Taoiseach Enda Kenny will head a glittering guest list at the fifteenth annual Aisling Awards gala in the Europa Hotel on November 17.The annual celebration brings together political, business and community leaders from across the city to raise a glass to the bridge-builders and local heroes of Belfast.

Accolades in a range of categories, including Culture and Arts, Belfast Brand, Business, Inter-Community, An Ghaeilge and Sport, will be awarded at the event to be compered by Paul Clarke of UTV.


Highlight of the evening will be the presentation of the Person of the Year Award – previous recipients have included Emma Groves, Inez McCormack, Naomi Long and Caitríona Ruane – by the Taoiseach.

The full list of shortlisted individuals and organisations can be accessed at www.aislin gawards.com where full details of tickets are also available.

A prestigious list of sponsors for the 2011 Aisling Awards is led by LBM and includes the Park Centre, Sean Grahams, Cable & Wireless, the Kennedy Centre, Moviehouse, TG4,  Tennents NI and Mercury Security Management Ltd.

Said Alison Sweeney of the Belfast Media Group: “This is a tough time for Belfast as the recession continues to bite, but we think that makes it all the more important to celebrate those who are building tomorrow's Belfast. We are looking forward to a night which affirms our faith in the future and our belief in the genius and talent of the people of Belfast.”