Whatsapp image 2023 11 24 at 19.43.24

 Nominate NowPrevious Honourees 

Celebrating the Unbeatable Belfast

For 27 years, the Aisling Awards have epitomised the very best of Belfast – that generous, gritty and unbeatable spirit which characterises a city on the rise. We aim to make it 28 Aisling galas in a row on 22 November 2024. Our venue will once again be the Europa Hotel, home-from-home for the Aisling faithful and our honourees will hail from all corners of the great city of Belfast.

Last year, with the support of premier partner Open University, we saluted the courage and resilience of civic leaders across multiple fields of endeavour and from every corner of the city.

Aisling Collage.jpg

These are the people who are constantly focused on the future; leaders who look out for inspiration; beacons of Belfast who understand that more unites us than divides us. 

Over two decades and more, honorary guests have ranged from our Special Olympians to the Rev. Jesse Jackson, the family of little Daithí Mac Gabhann to the courageous family of Harry Holland.

Our 2023 Recipients were:

Person of the Year: Daithí Mac Gabhann and Family (Our pic, top, shows John D'Arcy (right) Director Open University Ireland and Michelle O'Neill MLA presenting the Person of the Year statuette to little Daithí, dad Máirtín and grandfather Marty)

Medicare Roll of Honour Award: Prof. Peter Finn, Principal St Mary's University College

Argento Belfast Brand Award: Ulster University for York Street Campus

The Movie House Community Building Award: Hosford Homeless Project & St Comgalls

Ciradan Health & Well-being Promotion: New Script Project (Hugh McCormick, founder Cirdan pictured below presenting to the New Script team.)

The Kennedy Centre Outstanding Achievement in Education Award: St Vincent de Paul and Ligoniel Primary Schools & Workforce

Foras na Gaeilge - Gradam na Gaeilge/Outstanding Contribution to Irish Language Award: Gaeilphoist 

Sean Graham Outstanding Achievement in Sport Award: Naomh Póil CLG

Concentrix + WebHelp Guardian of the Environment Award: Mullaghglass Wetlands Project 

TG4 Arts and Culture Champion Award: Kabosh Theatre for Not on Our Watch by Louise Mathews

Belfast International Airport Best Local Retailer Award: Sandra's Nursery Corner & Direct Furniture