Newly promoted Shamrock Celtic ‘A’ began their first year in the Hunky Dory’s North Belfast Dart League premier grade with a comprehensive victory.

The Shamrock Celtic made the step up in class after winning the Trophy Room League 2 and they wasted no time in throwing down the gauntlet when they faced the Hole in the Wall, beginning with a fine 3-0 win for Brian George against Eoin Matthews.

Mick Grady enjoyed a 3-0 whitewash of Ruairi Curran and the match was ended as a competition when Jim Flanaghan maintained the 100 per cent record beating Pete McCormack 3-0.

Keith Beale’s 3-1 win over John McKee and Sean Moran’s 80 finish in a tight 3-2 win against John Smith maintained the momentum.

Current champions the CB Archers faced the Village Tavern and came away with a sound 4-1 triumph.

Kevin O’Reilly got the Archers’ first win with a 3-0 demolition of Dee Graham followed by Gary O’Reilly’s narrow 3-2 win against Jim Lee.

Kevin Mezza sealed the points for the Archers in a 3-0 win while Joe Lee pulled one back for the Tavern, beating Finton Carson 3-1.

The last game saw Paul McLean’s 81 finish eclipse Mark McAuley’s 67 checkout for a 3-2 win.

Ray Grant was the only casualty for the Phoenix Flames in their 4-1 success against the Front Page, losing 3-2 to Mick O’Reilly. After that the Flames couldn’t miss and there were 3-0 whitewashes for Vincey Donaldson, Ciaran McAlinden and Dee Smyth over Kieran Adams and Stephen Donaldson against David Begley Snr.

The St Malachy’s Old Boys’ Ciaran Smyth needed all his skill around the doubles to edge his game 3-2.

Unfortunately Ciaran’s teammates could not follow suit and McGrath’s took the match 4-1 courtesy of 3-1 wins for Micky Costello over Stevie Flood and Don Curry over Paddy Cassidy as well as 3-0 wins for Jap Craig and Billy Brooks.

Two of the Trophy Room League 2 new boys met in the first round of fixtures when Shamrock Celtic ‘B’ played the Cliftonville Bowling Club and it was the Bowling Club who took the lead after Danny McNeill defeated Gerry Britton 3-2.

Henry Carson got the Celtic back on level terms when he overcame Gerard Cameron 3-1 before Brian McKinney edged the Shamrock in front with a 3-1 win over Tommy Johnson.

The match was tied again after Davy Mulholland sneaked past Darren Corbett 3-2, but the Ardoyne side was not to be denied and Sean Montgomery sealed the match with a 3-0 win over Tommy Killon.

The Ligoniel Working Men’s Club got off to a comfortable start when John Dillon blanked Derbuil McAlinden 3-0. However, they were rocked when Seamus McTasney went down 3-1 to Sharon Bannon.

Seamus Madden restored the lead with a 3-0 win over Ann Cleghorn and further wins from Kevin Morrow and Paul Walson secured the points.

The St Malachy’s Zulus got their 2011 campaign off on the wrong foot when they visited the Library Bar ‘B’ team.

Good wins for Joe McLaughlin, Gerard Keenan and Gary O’Connor ensured the Library Bar took the honours with Paul Madden’s 3-1 win over Paul Cummins rubbing salt into the wounds.

Marty McDonald restored a bit of pride for the Zulus when he beat Colin McPeake 3-0.

The Library Bar ‘A’ team matched the ‘B’ team’s exploits in a one-sided affair in the Phoenix Bar.

Sas McDaid opened the scoring for the Library Bar when he beat John Campbell 3-1.

This was swiftly followed by victories for John Sherry and Patti Boyd over Eamon McGovern and Aaron McGovern before Micky Crangle halted the slide, defeating Mark McVeagh 3-1. Squid McDaid then beat John Madden 3-0.

For North Belfast Dart League information visit the website at