Our Lady & St Patrick’s College, Knock pupil Lorcan McMullan has earned a place on the 2011/2012 BT Ulster Colleges All-Star hurling panel.

The Bredagh midfielder is a holder of BT McGreevy and Kirk Cup medals, won with the school. He has collected a Down Féile na nGael medal with Bredagh and has represented his school and club in football as well.

The All-Star scheme, now in its 25th year, rewards excellence in skill and sportsmanship with players selected over the course of two trial games, following an initial nomination by their school.  And with around 200 pupils participating in this year’s football and hurling trials, competition for the 15 places in each category proved as fierce as ever.

“To achieve a BT Ulster Colleges All-Star Award is to rightly earn a place in hurling and football’s hall of fame,” said Seamus Meehan, Chairman of the Ulster Colleges’ Council.

“These awards recognise and reward these talented players’ commitment and endeavour on the hurling and football field.”

BT Ulster Colleges’ Hurling All- Stars: Domhnall Quinn             (St Mary’s, Belfast),  Ryan Farren (St Mary’s, Magherafelt), Stephen Rooney (St Mary’s, Belfast),  Patrick Blaney (Cross & Passion, Ballycastle), Stephen Renaghan (St Patrick’s, Keady), Tiernan Morgan (St Patrick’s, Dungannon), Eamonn Gough-Duffin (St Patrick’s, Dungannon), Lorcan McMullan (Our Lady & St Patrick’s, Knock), Naoise Ó Cairealláin (St Mary’s, Belfast), Conor Johnston (St Mary’s, Belfast), Eoghan Campbell (Cross & Passion, Ballycastle), Brendan Rogers (St Patrick’s, Maghera),  Matthew Lennon (St Patrick’s, Armagh), Niall McKenna (Coláiste Feirste, Belfast), Shea Gaffney (St Patrick’s, Keady).

BT Ulster Colleges’ Football All-Stars: Cathail Arnold (St Patrick’s Downpatrick), Patrick McBride (St Mary’s CBS), Tomás McCarron (Omagh CBS), Jason Murphy (Our Lady’s Castleblaney), Ryan Johnston (St Colman’s Newry), Ciaran McCartan (Abbey CBS), Conor White (St Patrick’s Armagh) Ryan Dougan (St Patrick’s Maghera), Mel Boyce (St Macartan’s Monaghan), Terence O’Brien (St Mary’s Magherafelt), Dermot McAleese (St Louis Ballymena), Barry Coyle (St Patrick’s Keady), Kevin Quinn (St Mary’s CBS), Anthony O’Neill (St Pius X), Stefan Lavery (St Patrick’s Dungannon).