West Belfast Partnership Board has welcomed Driving Theory Belfast as a sponsor of the Aisling Bursaries in this the 20th anniversary of the educational initiative designed to help young people cover university costs.

Ryan Quinn, Director of Driving Theory Belfast, said: “Education is at the heart of everything we do at Driving Theory Belfast. We are delighted to once again to support the Aisling Bursaries in providing support for local people.

“As an organisation Driving Theory Belfast offers a range of driving qualifications.  We would like to take this opportunity to wish all Aisling Bursaries recipients the very best of luck for the future.”

The Aisling Bursaries are part of the fabric of West Belfast and are awarded by West Belfast Partnership Board to the young and the not so young to enable them to take, begin, continue or return to vocational training or academic studies. Sponsors of the Aisling Education Bursaries include businesses, community enterprises, families and individuals.

Geraldine McAteer, CEO of West Belfast Partnership, said:  “We are delighted that Driving Theory Belfast are once again showing their support for West Belfast by sponsoring an Aisling Bursary.

“On behalf of the Aisling Committee, staff and Board of the Partnership I would like to thank them for their continued support for the Aisling Bursaries and for the community of West Belfast.

“The Aisling Bursaries are integral to West Belfast Partnership Board’s commitment to the importance of education in the regeneration of our local community.

“West Belfast Partnership Board would like to thank Driving Theory Belfast and all our wonderful sponsors who have supported us and the community of West Belfast over the past 20 years by donating £665,000 to 806 recipients to help them realise their dream of entering further/higher education or vocational training. As we move to the third decade of the Bursaries we hope to reach the £1,000,000 mark.”

Applications have now closed for this year’s Bursaries and are currently being assessed by an independent panel.